FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022

FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022

The Oceanian section of the 2022 FIFA World Cup qualification will act as qualifiers for the 2022 FIFA World Cup, to be held in Qatar, for national teams which are members of the Oceania Football Confederation (OFC). A total of 0.5 slots in the final tournament is available for OFC teams, which equates to one inter-confederation play-off slot.

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic in Oceania, the qualification will be held as a centralised tournament in Qatar from 14 to 30 March 2022


In November 2021, the OFC confirmed the format for the qualifiers in response to the COVID-19 pandemic.[4] The qualifying stage will be a single match between the two lowest-ranked participating OFC nations in the FIFA World Rankings, with the winner advancing to the group stage. The group stage will then see eight teams (being the winner of the qualification stage match and the other seven nations) drawn into two groups of four, with each team playing each of their group opponents once (single round-robin, with three group matches for each team). The winner and runner-up from each group qualify for a single leg semi-final match, with the two winners advancing to a single leg final match. The winner advances to the inter-confederation play-offs.

The 2022 FIFA World Cup qualification[note 2] is the qualifying process which will decide 31 of the 32 teams that will participate in the 2022 FIFA World Cup, joining hosts Qatar, who received an automatic spot.

Parallel tournaments are organised by FIFA’s six confederations. Qualification started on 6 June 2019, when the first match played was between Mongolia and Brunei and the first goal was scored by Mongolian player Norjmoogiin Tsedenbal, and is set to end in June 2022 with the inter-confederation play-offs. Unlike with previous editions, there was no general preliminary draw, and instead, various draws were held separately due to different timelines used by each confederation. The qualification process has suffered numerous postponements due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Qualified teams
Team Method of qualification Date of qualification
Brazil CONMEBOL Round Robin top four 11 November 2021
France UEFA Group D winners 13 November 2021
Belgium UEFA Group E winners 13 November 2021
Croatia UEFA Group H winners 14 November 2021



  • 1 Qualified teams
  • 2 Qualification process
    • 2.1 Summary of qualification
  • 3 Format
    • 3.1 Tiebreakers
  • 4 Confederation qualification
    • 4.1 AFC
      • 4.1.1 Current stage (third round)
    • 4.2 CAF
      • 4.2.1 Current stage (third round)
    • 4.3 CONCACAF
      • 4.3.1 Current stage (third round)
    • 4.4 CONMEBOL
      • 4.4.1 Current stage
    • 4.5 OFC
      • 4.5.1 Qualification match
      • 4.5.2 Group stage
    • 4.6 UEFA
      • 4.6.1 Final positions (first round)
      • 4.6.2 Second round
  • 5 Inter-confederation play-offs
    • 5.1 AFC v CONMEBOL
    • 5.2 CONCACAF v OFC
  • 6 Top goalscorers
  • 7 Notes
  • 8 References


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.